World War I, The Triple Entente Declaration on No Separate Peace

4 September, 1914
The Triple Entente Declaration on No Separate Peace

From the French Yellow Book.


M. Delcasse, Minister for Foreign Affairs, to the French Ambassadors and Ministers abroad

Paris, September 4, 1914

The following declaration has this morning been signed at the Foreign Office at London: -- "The undersigned duly authorized thereto by their respective Governments hereby declare as follows: --

"The British, French, and Russian Governments mutually engage not to conclude peace separately during the present war. The three Governments agree that when terms of peace come to be discussed, no one of the Allies will demand terms of peace without the previous agreement of each of the other Allies."





This declaration will be published today.


Return to World War I Document Archive

Comments, corrections and suggestions are welcome:
      Richard Hacken (hacken @
      or Jane Plotke (cd078 @

The World War I Document Archive
on the server of the Brigham Young University Library
has been visited times since February 1996 .

Last Updated: February 1, 1996.